Home > Achievements > 2020 > Singapore Young Physicists' Tournament 2020

Singapore Young Physicists' Tournament 2020

Three RGS Year 4 students Wang Yifei, Sun Xiaoqing and Tham Yun Xin represented the school in Category B of the Singapore Young Physicists' Tournament (SYPT) 2020, and after many months of preparation, the team emerged as the Gold Award winners and champion team, a historical win as they are the first all-girls team to have won the accolade!

In Category A of the tournament, RGS alumnae Yang Liu, Tan Wei Tian Mireille and Selina Peh Yuet Ning received the Bronze Award. They had taken part in the revised format of the finals due to the COVID-19 situation, where they had to present their reports and posters via a video conference with the jurors.

Congratulations to the teams and also to our teachers from the RGS Science department Ms Angel Lim, Mr Tan Hup Yew, Mr Yang Kian Hong and Ms Cheong Szu Chuang who mentored the girls.

Photo 1 (Cat B).jpg                   Congratulations to (from left) Yifei, Xiaoqing and Yun Xin for their historical win in Category B of
                   the SYPT 2020!

Photo 2 (Cat A).jpg                    Congratulations to Selina, Yang Liu and Mireille for achieving the Bronze Award in Category A of
                    the tournament!

Photo 3 (Cat A).jpg                    The team presenting their report to the jurors via video conference.
Photo 5.jpg                    The teams together with two of their teacher-mentors from the RGS Science Department
                    Mr Tan Hup Yew (far left) and Ms Angel Lim (far right).

SYPT seeks to bring students through a process of what physicists do, from research to modelling, experimentation and finally to an oral defence before peers and experts. It provides authentic learning experiences in the learning of physics. Participants of the SYPT stand to represent Singapore in the International Young Physicists' Tournament.