Home > Alumnae > Alumnae Relations Office > Distinguished Alumnae

Distinguished Alumnae

RGS has produced many distinguished, high profile women over the years including scholars, leaders in various sectors of the economy, as well as women in high office.

Some of our distinguished women


Ms Claire Chiang
Senior Vice President, Banyan Tree Holdings Ltd

Ms Chua Sock Koong
Former Group CEO, Singtel
First woman appointed to Council of Presidential Advisers


Ms Liew Wei Li
Deputy Director-General of Education (Schools) and Director of Schools, Ministry of Education

Mrs Carmee Lim
Mentor Principal, MindChamps 
Former Principal, RGS

Mrs Deborah Tan
Former Director, Gifted Education, Curriculum Planning & Development Division, MOE
Former Principal, Singapore Sports School
Former Principal, RGS


Ms Amanda Chong
Her book of poetry 'Professions' (2016) was shortlisted for the 2018 Singapore Literature Prize, and her poetry has been engraved on the Helix Bridge and included in the Cambridge International GCSE syllabus

Ms Beatrice Chia-Richmond 
Founder, Running Into The Sun Pte Ltd 
First female creative director for the 2011 National Day Parade 
Creative director for the opening and closing ceremonies of the SEA Games 2015

Ms Corrinne May
Award-winning singer-songwriter

Ms Joanna Dong
Vocalist and Actress
First artiste signed to Singapore label, Red Roof Records
Second runner-up for the second season of Sing! China

Ms Kit Chan 
Pioneer generation of Singaporean singers to successfully break into the international market 
Multi-hyphenate talent in areas such as singing, theatre, television drama, poetry, song writing and community work

Dr Lee Tzu Pheng 
Award-winning and internationally acclaimed poet

Ms Rani Singam 
One of Asia’s most sought-after vocalists
Named in ‘The Jazz Singers, The Ultimate Guide’, a 2008 Hal Leonard publication

Ms Ruth Ling 
Founder, Red Roof Records 
Highly sought-after producer, arranger, songwriter and music director 
Winner of the 2013 Young Artist Award

Ms Siow Lee Chin 
Renowned violinist 
First Singaporean to be admitted to the prestigious Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, USA

Ms Stefanie Sun 
Award-winning Mandopop singer-songwriter

Ms Stella Kon 
Award-winning playwright, novelist, short story writer and poet 
Best-known for her drama, Emily of Emerald Hill

Ms Tan Hwee Hwee
Author of 'Foreign Bodies' (1997) and 'Mammon Inc.' (2001), which won the Singapore Literature Prize in 2004
Winner of the 2003 Young Artist Award

Ms Wena Poon
Winner of the Willesden Herald Short Story Prize (UK), and nominated for the Frank O'Connor Award (Ireland), Le Prix Hemingwa (France), the Bridport Prize in Poetry (UK), the Singapore Literature Prize and the Popular Readers Award (Malaysia)


Dr Amy Khor 
Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment, Ministry of Transport 
Member of Parliament, Hong Kah North SMC

Ms Chan Lai Fung 

Permanent Secretary, National Research & Development and Public Sector Science & Technology Policy & Plans Office, Prime Minister's Office
Chairman, Agency for Science, Technology and Research

Dr Cheong Koon Hean 
Chairman, Centre for Liveable Cities, Ministry of National Development
Chairman, Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize Nominating Committee

Ms Denise Phua
Mayor, Central Singapore District 
Member of Parliament, Jalan Besar GRC 
Co-Founder, Pathlight School

Honourable Justice Judith Prakash 
Judge of Appeal, Supreme Court

Dr Intan Azura Mokhtar
Assistant Professor, Singapore Institute of Technology
Former Member of Parliament, Ang Mo Kio GRC

Professor Ng-Loy Wee Loon 
Honorary Senior Council 
Law professor, National University of Singapore

Ms Rahayu Mahzam
Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health
Member of Parliament, Jurong GRC
Lawyer specialising in civil litigation and family law

Ms Sim Ann 
Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information, Ministry of National Development
Deputy Government Whip
Member of Parliament, Holland-Bukit Timah GRC 


Professor Jackie Ying  
A*STAR Senior Fellow, NanoBio Lab 
Member, RGS Board of Governors

Dr Sherry Aw
Independent Fellow, The Institute for Molecular and Cell Biology
Winner of The Great Women of Our Time Awards 2018


Ms Bernise Ang 
Co-Founder and Executive Director, Syinc 
Emeritus Board member, International Youth Foundation

Mrs Betty Chen 
Former President, Chinese Women’s Association

Ms Carrie Tan
Founding Executive Director, Daughters of Tomorrow, a charity that facilitates livelihood opportunities for underprivileged women, and supports them in building financially independent and resilient families
Ms Chan Li Shan 
Youngest Singaporean to publish a first-person narrative of mental illness, which was nominated for the Singapore Literature Prize 
Awarded the ‘Most Promising Advocate’ at the inaugural Singapore Advocacy Awards

Ms Jean Loo Qingwen
Co-Founder/Director, Superhero Me Ltd, a ground-up inclusive arts movement that harnesses the power of creativity through the arts to empower children from less privileged backgrounds and special needs communities

Ms Karen Tan 
Founder, Pocket Projects 
Award-winning project ‘Lorong 24A Shophouse Series’ involved a successful regeneration and repositioning of a run-down street in Geylang

Mrs Leaena Tambyah 
Started Singapore’s first school for children with multiple disabilities in 1979

Ms Phua Huijia 
Founder, Skillseed 
Founder, BYO Café at the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, which helped Yale University achieve a Silver mark under a nation-wide Sustainability Tracking Assessment and Rating System 
Mentor for Youth Horizons

Ms Rebekah Lin 
Founder, The Social Co 
Came up with the 50 for 50 programme in conjunction with SG50 celebrations 
Co-Founder, Early Reader and Chloros Solutions

Ms Vivian Claire Liew 
Founder, PhilanthropyWorks 
First Asian elected as board director of Medecins Sans Frontieres in Brussels

Dr Wong Ting Hway 
Trauma and general surgeon, Singapore General Hospital 
First Singaporean doctor to work full-time with the International Committee of the Red Cross 
One of the ‘1000 PeaceWomen across the Globe’ who were collectively nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize (2005)
Member, RGS Board of Governors


Ms Quah Ting Wen 
National swimmer 
Represented Singapore at the 2008 Olympic Games 
Flag bearer for the 2009 Asian Youth Games and 2015 SEA Games

Ms Elisa Yukie Yokoyama 
National sailor 
Sportsgirl of the Year 2012 
Mentor for Sailability, a national sailing programme for the disabled